michaelw
I am new to my company (and the industry for that matter). A lot of the senior sellers at my company will use lines like "I have x years of experience in the industry" to build trust with their clients. I obviously don't have that luxury. Any ideas on communicating value even though I am a newbie? I want to build trust with my customers. 
Quote 0 0

Dave_T
It is always tough being new and having to act like the 'expert'. However, my advice would definitely be not to lie or pretend like you know what you are talking about if you do not actually know. I would leverage your newness to your advantage by asking 'dumb' questions. You can get away with asking some really helpful qualification questions tied to you being new.

As far as providing value, I would assure your customers that you have access to whatever necessary resources and tools to ensure they will be successful. The message being "If I don't know, I will be sure to find someone for you that does know.". As long as you keep the customer's experience as the first priority, you can't go wrong. 
Quote 0 0
michaelw
Hi Dave, and thanks for your reply. That makes sense and I appreciate your perspective. I would never want to lie or pretend I knew something that I actually did not, because I know that always comes back to bite you in the ass! 

Would you mind giving me an example or two of the qualification questions you mentioned that I may be able to ask as a new employee that will be helpful for me?
Quote 0 0
Dave_T