go_cards
I'm new to this so bear with me. At what point do you decide to demo? I feel like I have wasted a lot of time demoing that has led to nothing (no sales) and I'm starting to think that the demo is not really necessary?

I do virtual demos over the phone and computer for our SaaS.
Quote 0 0

timcall
This is a great point to raise and a common concern.  The fact that you are raising the question indicates you have some good ideas of when to use a demonstration.  We could discuss a standard list of qualifications to determine if a demonstration is appropriate.  But one challenge I have encountered is more about who is driving or pushing the demonstration.  How much influence is yours versus an account executive making the choice for you to show a demonstration?  My experience has seen both, and when the rep and SE are in sync, they can use a process to determine if a demo is warranted.  But many times, the sales person chooses to just rush to a demo, without real qualification.  Ultimately, how much the SE is allowed or willing to push back makes a big difference.  The management or culture of the organization has to support a model where the SE can discuss strategy and timing of demos and presentations.
Quote 1 0
go_cards
Hi timcall, thanks for your response. Do you think it would be reasonable to ask the customer something along the lines of "will seeing a demo help you make a decision?" or "is a demo the next step, or what else do we need to discuss?" to help qualify the situation better? Do you suggest any tricks for determining how much influence the demo is really going to have on the customer? 

Thanks in advance for your continued help. [smile]
Quote 0 0
datatron